Best in Travel 2020

I cannot believe that I am already writing this post, since all the other years I have always waited for the end of December to show you my favourite travel destinations.

My Top 10 Travel Destinations of 2019 was won by Copenhagen, Denmark
My Top 10 Travel Destinations of 2018 was won by Karaburun peninsula, Albania

I would have waited for the very end of December even this year, but as we all know 2020 was very strange and because of the current light lockdown in Germany I am pretty sure that I won’t visit any place until I feel safer.
I still consider myself very lucky because I have got the chance to travel during the Summer and to see even a new country and as soon everything is REALLY over I cannot wait for a trip outside Europe!

Also, I have not been to Italy since the morning of the 31st of December of 2019 and it is the strangest feeling ever.
It had never happened before to not see my family and friends for so long.
In these four years as expat I had always managed to come back at least two or three times per year.

But now I do not want to make this post sad, so these are my favourite travel destinations of 2020:
1.Hamburg, Germany

Beside its beautiful bars, cafes and restaurants, what I really loved about Hamburg was the architecture together with the amount of water the city is surrounded by.
It was impossible not noticing that it is the city with most bridges and canals in the world.
Plus, I loved the open minded environment and how clean it was despite being the second largest city of Germany.
2.Schaffausen Waterfalls, Switzerland

The most beautiful natural place where I have ever been.
Taking the boat to admire the waterfalls from so close was one of the best travel experiences of my whole life.
I have always preferred visiting new cities rather that natural places, but if every place should be like this I would be totally happy with them anyway!
3.Mainau – Flowers Island, Germany

And here we are again, a natural place made it to my Top 3 of this year!
Mainau is such a hidden gem for non German tourists, but I promise that it is just as great as many of the most famous Italian islands.
The lake is crystal clear, the sculpture made from flowers are stunning, the restaurants are elegant and children can have a lot of fun.
It has become one of my favourite place here in Germany and I cannot help but suggesting to spend at least a day there.
4.Constance, Germany

Constance combines nature and fun since its lake is stunning and on the promenade you could find gorgeous restaurants and pubs.
Plus, from there you can reach Switzerland by feet as there is a red line that marks the border between Constance and Switzerland.
5.Luxembourg City, Luxembourg

Charming and dreamy, this country was a very pleasant surprise.
Visiting it in Autumn surrounded by yellow and red leaves made it look at its best.
It was also the city where I have had the best hot chocolate ever!
6.Esslingen am Neckar, Germany

I lived in Stuttgart for three months in 2018, but I never had the chance to visit Esslingen albeit it was at just 10 minutes away from it.
Then last year I went with my friends in there just to eat at “The Ladies Diner”, which is a lovely American diner with the best chips you will ever have and with a great ’60s atmosphere!
This year I finally visited the city itself and it was lovely. It looked very medieval and dreamy!
I would have loved to see Christmas markets in there, but because of the virus there won’t be any this year.
I have my fingers crossed for everything to be over towards the end of 2021 and that I will be able to visit one of the most beautiful German Christmas markets.
7.Zurich, Switzerland
old town in zurich
If you had not guessed by now, I think now you could understand that Germany and Switzerland are my favourite countries.
I had already visited Basel and I loved it…and I can say totally the same about Zurich.
The city was very beautiful with the architecture that reminded of the German one, the lake was stunning and I loved seeing all those fancy people well dressed walking in the centre.
It also reminded me a lot of Italy, since Italians love being well dressed even just for a stroll with friends in the city centre.




Un pensiero su “Best in Travel 2020

  1. Pingback: Best in Travel 2021 – italianwanderluster

Lascia un commento